The Silver City Comet Carriage, which is now a fascinating feature of the Henry Parkes Museum, was relocated from the railway 20 years ago. The carriage was given to the people of Parkes Shire by State Rail to recognise the history of the Silver City Comet, which ran from Parkes to Broken Hill and back from 1937 until 1989. The
carriage was restored and painted in 2014 by PDHSI and took 12 hours to be transported from the Railway Station to the Antique Machinery Site!
This was made possible by cranes and heavy transport vehicles. During the relocation workmen warned that it
would not be possible to move again due to the poor condition of the carriage so it looks like the Henry Parkes Centre will be its final resting place. People who helped move the carriage include Railway Loco and Diesel Staff, McPhersons, Cunninghams, police, County Council, PDHSI volunteers, Parkes Shire Council staff and the SES.
The carriage has unfortunately been vandalised several times including spilled drinks and blocked toilets although the interior of the carriage has now been restored including windows, seats and blinds. The exterior has been totally restored and repainted at a cost of over $8,000 and a roof cover has been built over the carriage. The PDHSI are
currently in the process of having the Silver City Comet Carriage put on the Railway Heritage Register listing because of its uniqueness and place in Parkes history.
Currently Parkes Car Club wish to plan extensions to their building which would involve moving the carriage however the Historical Society have fears that moving this large piece of history might cause it to be damaged beyond repair and lost forever.